The Namibian U-19 squad swept through the Africa Qualifier round without losing a single game.

To date, three teams have qualified for the U19 World Cup 2024, and Namibia is the newest addition.

On Sunday, it was announced that Namibia had won the Africa Qualifier and, as a result, would be sending a team to the 2019 ICC U19 Men’s Cricket World Cup in Sri Lanka. To date, three teams have qualified for the U19 World Cup 2024, and Namibia is the newest addition. Nepal advanced from Asia in February 2023, while New Zealand advanced last month from the East Asia-Pacific Qualifier. The three teams join the eleven that had already qualified as the top-ranked Full Member nations from the previous tournament in 2022: Afghanistan, Australia, Bangladesh, England, India, Ireland, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka, West Indies, and Zimbabwe.

After having their first game against Uganda called off due to weather, the Eagles went on to win all of their remaining games in the Africa Qualifier. The bowlers performed admirably as they limited Namibia’s score to a maximum of 170 during the course of the tournament.

Nambia played Tanzania on July 24 after the initial match was postponed due to rain. Namibia posted a respectable total of 139, led by the captain’s 39 not out. All of the bowlers contributed by taking wickets, and Tanzania was bowled out for just 33, resulting in a 106-run victory.

In the following match, Kenya also lost after being bowled out for 64 runs while batting first against Namibia. The Eagles breezed through the chase and triumphed by seven wickets with seven overs to spare.

They easily defeated Sierra Leone by an innings and 83 runs, with Morris Gerhardt Kariata taking four wickets with his left-arm pace.

Namibia’s tournament came to a satisfying close with a 53-run victory over Nigeria, in which Peter-Daniel Blignaut took five wickets.

Two more berths for the U19 Men’s flagship event next year will be decided by the Europe Regional Qualifier and the Americas Regional Qualifier, respectively.

The Netherlands will host the Europe Qualifier from August 6-12, where they’ll face off against Guernsey, Italy, Jersey, Norway, and Scotland. On August 11th, Argentina, Bermuda, the host country of Canada, Suriname, and the United States of America will compete in the Americas Qualifier.

Previous articleAustralia’s openers have gotten off to a great start in their quest for Ash’s glory against England.
Next articleSee the hilarious reaction of Shakib Al Hasan when a snake interrupts play in the Lanka Premier League.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here