Prithvi Shaw smashed
Prithvi Shaw smashed his third hundred in the tournament on Tuesday.

Captain Prithvi Shaw hit an unbeaten 185 off 123 balls to reach the semi-finals of the Vijay Hazare Trophy by defeating Mumbai by nine wickets over Saurashtra.

Captain Prithvi Shaw hit an unbeaten 185 off 123 balls as Mumbai reached the semi-finals of the Vijay Hazare Trophy with a stunning nine-wicket win over Saurashtra in the fourth quarter-final in New Delhi on Tuesday. To bat, Saurashtra scored 284 for 5 thanks to Samarth Vyas’s unbeaten 90-run stand, but thanks to Shaw’s blazing innings, Mumbai chased down the target in 41.5 overs.

Shaw scored his third century in the tournament and scored 105 not out against Delhi and 227 not out against Puducherry in the league stage.

Chasing 285, Shaw went on to say aggressively that after nine overs Mumbai scored 67 runs without any loss.

The right-arm opposition bowlers were also not spared as they hit 21 fours and seven sixes in their illustrious innings.

Along with Shaw in full flow, Yashasvi Jaiswal (75 off 104 balls) played his second brilliant fifty.

Shaw, who now holds the record for the highest individual score in the tournament, continued to play his shots and completed 50 runs off 29 balls.

The youngster continued his effort and completed his century in 67 balls, even with the opening pair adding 238 runs for the first wicket to lay the foundation for victory.

Jaiswal hit 10 fours and a six, but Mumbai was surprised when he was on the verge of victory.

Shaw easily completed the formality in the company of Aditya Tare, who remained unbeaten on 20.

Earlier, Saurashtra openers Snell Patel (30) and Avi Barot (37 off 49 balls; 5×4) gave the team a consistent start by scoring 58 runs.

Left-arm spinner Shams Mulani (2/51) brought Mumbai to first success after dismissing Patel.

Mumbai then overtook Saurashtra as they took two quick wickets and troubled them for three wickets for 85 runs.

All-rounder Shivam Dubey (1/43) removed Barot, who was caught by Tanush Kotian, while Mulani sent back Motivational Mankad (4).

One batsman Vishwaraj Singh Jadeja (53 off 69 balls; 4×4; 1×6) played consecutive innings, but did not get support at the other end.

Mumbai off-spinner Tanush Kotian gave Saurashtra the fourth blow by cheaply dismissing Arpit Vasavada (10) and stopping them for 121 for 4 wickets.

When it seemed that Jadeja and Vyas were taking the game away, 21-year-old Leggie Prashant Solanki eliminated the former as Saurashtra lost half their side for 155.

But Vyas, who came in at number six, and Chirag Jani (53 not out from 38 balls) led the innings and provided much needed momentum with an unbreakable stand of 129 runs for the sixth wicket.

Vyas hit seven fours and four maximum sixes, while Jani hit five fours and a six while both attacked Mumbai.

Brief scores:

Saurashtra 284/5 (Samarth Vyas 90 not out, Chirag Jani 53 not out; Shams Mulani 2/51; Tanush Kotian 1/30) lost to Mumbai 285/1 (Prithvi Shaw 185 not out, Yashaswi Jaiswal 75; Jaidev Unadkat 1 /) 52) by 9 wickets.

Previous articleVijay Hazare Trophy: Upendra Yadav Century Powers Semi-Final in Uttar Pradesh Past Delhi
Next articleWatch: Ishant Sharma warmly welcomes pet dogs when they reach home after England’s Test Series Triumph


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here