Smriti Mandhana
Smriti Mandhana blasted 80 runs off 64 balls, with the help of 10 fours and three sixes.

Smriti Mandhana hit a blistering half-century on Tuesday, her 10th consecutive match in a one-run chase as India Women registered a comprehensive nine-wicket win over South Africa women in the second ODI to level the five-match series 1-1 .

Indian women’s cricket team opener Smriti Mandhana hit a blistering half-century on Tuesday as the hosts took a nine-wicket win over South Africa to tie the five-match series 1-1 in the second ODI. The left-handed batsman also became the first cricketer, man or woman, to score 10 consecutive scores of 50 or more in ODIs during the run chase. He overtook Suzie Bates of New Zealand, who had nine consecutive scores of 50 and above in the run chase between 2015 and 2017. No other male or female cricketer has scored more than 50 in six consecutive ODIs.

Chasing a modest 158 ​​for the win, Mandhana lost her opening partner Jemimah Rodrigues early, but could not prevent her from attacking the South African bowlers. He scored 80 runs off 64 balls with the help of 10 fours and three sixes. He ended the match in style by dismissing Nadine de Kirkle with two consecutive fours in the 29th over.

Poonam Raut, who came to bat at number three, started off slow and scored just six runs off her first 30 balls. However, he soon switched gears and finished on 62 off 89 balls, as India returned home.

Earlier, India captain Mithali Raj won the toss and asked South Africa to bat. Veteran Jhulan Goswami and Mansi Joshi dismissed two openers.

South African captain Sune Luce, along with Lara Goodall, kept the Indian bowlers tied and added 60 runs for the third wicket. Mansi Joshi caught Luis behind the stumps at the score of 36 to break the partnership. Goodall was bowled clean by India’s vice-captain Harmanpreet Kaur for just fifty with the bat.

After two quick wickets, the batting of South Africa collapsed like cards and they were piled on for 157 runs in 41 overs. Jhulan replaced the bowlers with four wickets, while Rajeshwari Gaikwad and Mansi Joshi took three and two wickets respectively.

The third ODI will be played in Lucknow on March 12, with the series equalized 1–1.

Previous articleWatch: Ishant Sharma warmly welcomes pet dogs when they reach home after England’s Test Series Triumph
Next articleIndia vs England: “There is a lot of happiness in Bhubaneswar,” says Virat Kohli, who returns to Bhubaneswar Kumar. The clock


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here