Sri Lankan
Sri Lankan cricket team photo from the archives

The previously eliminated Windies were bowled out for 243 by the Sri Lankans, who had already qualified for the championship later this year in India.

On Friday, thanks to a hundred from Pathum Nissanka, Sri Lanka trounced the West Indies by eight wickets, keeping their perfect record intact in the Cricket World Cup Qualifier. Despite already being eliminated from the tournament, the Windies were bowled out for 243 by the Sri Lankans, who then chased down the target with 5.4 overs to spare. After losing to Zimbabwe, the Netherlands, and Scotland earlier in the competition, the Caribbean side’s terrible run came to an end with this setback. West Indies skipper Shai Hope urged his team to “just leave this behind us.”

Expect the future. Sharing information is essential. We’ve hit rock bottom; now we need to figure out how to climb out.

By beating Scotland on Thursday, the Dutch qualified for the World Cup and will now play in it from October 5th to November 19th.

The final will be played on Sunday between Sri Lanka and the Netherlands.

“Our camp is very positive and we are very confident with our performance,” said Sri Lankan captain Dasun Shanaka.

Our output is what we have to keep in check. The outcome will handle itself.

Sri Lanka won the toss and decided to play first, and their decision paid off when they wiped out the West Indies’ top order with a score of 123-7.

Mahesh Theekshana, a spinner, took out three of the top four hitters and finished with 4-34 off of 10 overs.

With the help of Romario Shepherd and Kevin Sinclair, the Windies were able to maintain a respectable score thanks to Keacy Carty’s 87.

Nissanka scored his second consecutive century off 113 balls, and Sri Lanka never stumbled with the bat.

Together with Dimuth Karunaratne, another opener, they put on 190 runs for the first wicket.

Both were taken out of the lineup and replaced by Kusal Mendis and Sadeera Samarawickrama, who ended up leading the team to victory.

Previous articleThe West Zone beat the Central Zone for the Duleep Trophy after scores of 50 by Cheteshwar Pujara and Suryakumar Yadav.
Next articleSachin Tendulkar’s Birthday Wish for MS Dhoni Includes a Reference to the ‘Helicopter Shot


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here