Andre Russell
Andre Russell is one of the five West Indies T20I stars.

In the upcoming T20I series, West Indies called their provisional squad against South Africa, Australia, and Pakistan.

On Tuesday a provisional 18-man squad revealed by the Cricket West Indies (CWI) panel ahead of the three 5-game T20I series back-to-back with regard to South Africa, Australia, and Pakistan. In the March win of the 2-1 T20I series against Sri Lanka, Sheldon Cottrell, Shimron Hetmyer, Andre Russell, Oshane Thomas, and Hayden Walsh Jr. returned to the squad in a plurality. “These next T20Is are essential to our preparation for the ICC T20 World Cup. We have put together a very strong team of seasoned world-class match-winners and some thrilling, talented young people ready to burst on the world stage to do great things about cricket in West India “Phil Simmons, head coach of the West Indies said in an official statement.

“We’re here to identify those we see as the core of the team to uphold our World Cup title, so we want to see that the upcoming matches build this environment—the way we practice, the way we prepare, how we perform, and the chemistry inside the community.”

“We won five years ago, so we will be stepping stones for the next few weeks and months on the way towards our title defense and a third World Championship,” he said.

The provisional team will quarantine and practice in St. Lucia before the first T20I series against South Africa at the Grenada National Cricket Stadium beginning June 26th. The official team is then chosen and revealed in advance of each series.

“In conjunction with all T20I home series matches against South Africa, Australia, and Pakistan, the provisional T20I Squad was formed. This gives us the chance to continue building on our next World Cup and to decide our best team and our ideal 11, “Roger Harper, the lead selector of CWI, said.

West India is the winner of the defending T20I World Cup and also had the title raised in 2012.

West Indies T20I squad: Kieron Pollard (capt), Nicholas Pooran (wk), Fabian Allen, Dwayne Bravo, Sheldon Cottrell, Fidel Edwards, Andre Fletchers, Chris Gayle, Shimron Hetmyer, Jason Holder, Akeal Hosein and Evin Lewis, Obed McCoy.

Previous articleFaith in Uncapped Duo for New Zealand Test Series Chris Silverwood Places
Next articleBCCI General Special Assembly On 29 May Discussing Hosting T20 World Cup


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here