Mushtaq Ali
On Thursday, Hyderabad made it to the semi-finals of the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy T20 event.


Hyderabad won because of Tilak Varma’s 75 and a strong performance by the bowlers.

First, Hyderabad scored 158/5, then Gujarat was held to 128/8.

On Thursday, Karnataka also qualified for the semi-finals.

Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy quarter-final match between Hyderabad and Gujarat: Tilak Varma’s quick-fire 75 and an excellent performance by the bowlers helped Hyderabad overcome Gujarat by 30 runs on Thursday.

Tilak Varma’s quick-fire 75 and an excellent performance by the bowlers helped Hyderabad beat Gujarat by 30 runs in their quarter-final encounter of the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy T20 event on Thursday. Varma’s 75 off just 50 balls helped Hyderabad record 158/5 at the Air Force field in Palam and then restrict the opposition to 128/8 to reach the semi-finals of the national T20 title. Early on, Hyderabad was dealt a blow when pacer Chintan Gaja (2/32) was able to trap opener Pragnay Reddy (1).

Tanmay Agarwal (31), the in-form captain, and Varma (46 for the second wicket) subsequently stabilized the batting, adding 46 runs for the second wicket.

Gujarat’s attack was tamed by Varma, who also anchored the innings and blasted five fours and two sixes.

Himalaya Agarwal (23) and Buddhi Rahul (25 not out) helped him brilliantly in the second innings.

Because of Varma, Hyderabad was able to get close to 160 runs. Following the loss of their top three batsmen cheaply, Gujarat was reeling at 3/33.

Het Patel (25) and Piyush Chawla (25) attempted to push the game deep, but Hyderabad kept making inroads in the middle innings.

Gujarat’s hopes were raised somewhat by Ripal Patel’s 24-ball 35, but it was too little, too late.

Chama Milind’s dismissal of Ripal put an end to Gujarat’s hopes.

Tanmay Agarwal and Tilak Varma had a century-plus stand of 75 as Hyderabad thrashed Gujarat 128/8 in 20 overs (Ripal Patel 35, T Ravi Teja 3/27, CV Milind 2/28) by 30 runs in the Indian Premier League.

Previous articleNew Zealand and India will begin the third Twenty20 international with a bell-ringing ceremony at Eden Gardens.
Next articleTo replace Mickey Arthur, Sri Lanka will rely on homegrown coaches.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here