Jasprit Bumrah
Picture from the archives of India's great pacer Jasprit Bumrah

After missing significant time due to injury, Jasprit Bumrah will be heading the Indian cricket squad in a three-game Twenty20 International series against Ireland beginning on August 18.

The Indian cricket team’s star fast bowler, Jasprit Bumrah, has returned from an injury layoff and will captain the squad in a three-game Twenty20 International series against Ireland beginning on August 18. Before Bumrah’s injury flared up in September 2022, he had last played for India in a Twenty20 International. All eyes were on his return after missing the 2022 T20 World Cup due to injury, especially with the ODI World Cup starting on October 5 in India. BCCI secretary Jay Shah recently commented on the progress that star pacer Jasprit Bumrah has made towards recuperation.

In a recent interview, Shah made it very apparent that Bumrah is fit and ready to participate in August’s T20I series in Ireland. Bumrah, who recently bowled his entire quota of 10 overs against the visiting Mumbai side at the Alur grounds, has been recovering from back surgery in New Zealand at the National Cricket Academy.

While it has been reported that Bumrah has been bowling with great effort in the nets, former India batsman Wasim Jaffer recently expressed doubts over whether or not Bumrah can replicate similar intensity on the pitch.

He is a crucial cog in our bowling machine. In my opinion, he will play a crucial part in the World Cup. Death Bowl isn’t the same without him. We’ve been longing for his return all year. Jaffer remarked on Jio Cinema, “However, he must return to fitness, and there will be a question mark regarding whether he will be able to bowl in the same manner, at the same pace.”

The rest of the squad for the T20I series is also youthful, and not just because of Bumrah. The young batting lineup consists of Yashasvi Jaiswal, Tilak Varma, and Rinku Singh, and the spinners are Washington Sundar, Shahbaz Ahmed, and Ravi Bishnoi. The fast bowlers include Prasidh Krishna (returning from an injury that sidelined him for a while), Arshdeep Singh, Mukesh Kumar, and Avesh Khan. The team’s vice-captain is Ruturaj Gaikwad.

India’s Twenty20 International (T20I) squad vs. Ireland includes captain Jasprit Bumrah and vice-captain Ruturaj Gaikwad, vice-captain Yashasvi Jaiswal, vice-captain Tilak Varma, vice-captain Rinku Singh, vice-captain Sanju Samson, vice-captain Jitesh Sharma, vice-captain Shivam Dube, vice-captain Washington Sundar, vice-captain Shahbaz Ahmed, vice-captain Ravi Bishnoi, vice-captain Arsh


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here