Matthew Hayden
On Monday, Ramiz Raja was named the PCB chairman, with a three-year term.


Ramiz Raja has been named the head of the PCB, with the appointment as chairman.

Only four Pakistani national players have led the PCB previously, and Ramiz Raja was the latest.

Ramiz Raja has represented Pakistan in 255 international matches.

On Monday, the PCB selected Ramiz Raja, the former cricket player, to serve as chairman for a three-year tenure.

Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) chose the previous cricketer Ramiz Raja as the country’s 36th chairman for a three-year term and announced the decision on Monday. His hiring was immediately followed by the former batsman saying that he was going to work to make Pakistan cricket stronger and better. “On behalf of Pakistan cricket, I would like to thank you for electing me as Chairman of the PCB. I look forward to working with you in ensuring that Pakistan cricket’s efforts to expand its reach in the sporting world continue to flourish.”

“I hope to make Pakistan a top contender again with a strong culture and mentality,” the former Pakistan batsman explained.

During his first press conference, Raja announced that Matthew Hayden, who had previously served as captain of Australia, had been appointed as head coach, and Vernon Philander, who previously served as captain of South Africa, had been named as the head coach for the national team in the Twenty20 World Cup.

“Hayden’s assertiveness will give the Pakistan team a new flavor, and I think Philander will help the team as well,” Raja explained.

Hayden has stepped into Misbah-ul-role Haq’s as head coach after Misbah stepped down in the wake of losing his wicket and nearly losing his job. Philander is filling in for Waqar Younis.

Only four other Pakistani players, including Ijaz Butt, Javed Burki, and Abdul Hafeez Kardar, have ever been appointed to lead the PCB. The 59-year-old is the most recent.

Previous articleTim Paine, the Australian skipper, is to have neck surgery prior to the Ashes after having had a neck strain.
Next articleChris Woakes dropped out of the 2021 IPL and Ben Dwarshuis was picked as his replacement.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here