Ben Stokes
Ben Stokes, as shown in a publicity still

When the Pakistan vs. England cricket series begins on December 1st, Stokes has pledged to donate all of his match earnings to the Pakistan flood relief effort.

With Ben Stokes at the helm, England is making history in Pakistan with their Test series. The three-game series is a part of the World Test Championship and marks England’s first tour of Pakistan in 17 years. Stokes declared on Monday that he will be donating his match earnings from the entire series to the Pakistan flood appeal ahead of the series’ opening on December 1.

The tweet read: “I’m giving my match money from this Test series to the Pakistan Flood Appeal,” written by Stokes.

In order to help those affected by the recent flooding in Pakistan, I have decided to donate my match costs from this Test series to the Pakistan Flood Appeal.

November 28, 2022 — Ben Stokes (@benstokes38)
The England Test skipper, in his full statement, said: “As this is my first time visiting Pakistan, I am thrilled to be here for this monumental series.” It’s thrilling to see a Test team return here after a 17-year absence. “Being part of the team, either as a player or a supporter, comes with a unique feeling of responsibility.”

It was heartbreaking to witness, and the floods that hit Pakistan earlier this year have had a profound effect on the country and its people, he said.

As Stokes continued to explain in his statement: “I owe the game a great deal, and I want to give back in ways that go far beyond cricket.” “My match money from this Test series will go to the Pakistan disaster relief fund.”

The floods in Pakistan devastated many communities, he said, and he hoped that this donation would help with the reconstruction efforts.

Sunday morning saw the arrival of the English cricket team in Pakistan, where they will play three Tests for the first time since 2005. Even though the English cricket team played a successful Twenty20 series in Pakistan just two months ago, they haven’t played a Test match there in 17 years because of safety concerns.

In 2016, they were going to go to Pakistan, but they decided not to after their counterparts in New Zealand called off their trip just minutes before the first one-day international, citing security concerns.

Part of the World Test Championship, the three-game set kicks off on December 1 in Rawalpindi, continues to Multan (December 9–13), and concludes in Karachi (December 17–21).

To represent England, the following players have been selected: Ben Stokes (captain), James Anderson, Harry Brook, Zak Crawley, Ben Duckett, Ben Foakes, Will Jacks, Keaton Jennings, Jack Leach, Liam Livingstone, Jamie Overton, Ollie Pope, Ollie Robinson, Joe Root, Mark Wood, and Rehan Ahmed.

Previous articleNo Signs Of Ravindra Jadeja’s Recovery In Time For Bangladesh Tests; Suryakumar Yadav’s Inclusion Being Discussed, According To Report
Next articleAssam advances to the semi-finals of the Vijay Hazare Trophy thanks to Riyan Parag’s blistering 174.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here