BCCI Image File

It is believed that more than 50 people have applied for the new panel before the deadline at 6 p.m. on Monday, although there aren’t many strong hitters among them.

Two notable candidates for top national selector jobs are Maninder Singh, a former left-arm spinner, and Shiv Sunder Das, an opener who has played in more than 20 Tests for India. Whether or whether former pacer Ajit Agarkar has applied could not be verified. With his extensive international experience, many believe Agarkar would be an excellent choice to head the selection committee. From Mumbai, applicants include the current chairman of the senior Mumbai team, Salil Ankola, as well as former keepers Samir Dighe and the colorful Vinod Kambli.

It is believed that more than 50 people have applied for the new panel before the deadline at 6 p.m. on Monday, although there aren’t many strong hitters among them.

Only Maninder (with 35 Tests played) and Das (with 21 Tests played) have more Test experience than the other verified applicants.

While Maninder did apply in 2021 and make it to the interview stage, the Cricket Advisory Committee (CAC), then led by Madan Lal, ultimately decided to go with Chetan Sharma.

In reality, Chetan had played fewer matches than Maninder, but the two were essentially in the same league because they had both emerged as rising stars in the middle the to late 1980s and then faded away.

I have applied,” Maninder told PTI.

Das, the current batting coach for the senior Punjab squad, has sought to become a selector, and with the East Zone hardly generating Test players of reputation, he has a fair chance of getting the job.

It is unclear, however, if Das will receive the support of Odisha, his home state.

Even though Agarkar was the clear frontrunner the last time around, he was ultimately passed over in favor of Abey Kuruvilla because the previous MCA leadership had not supported him.

The other men listed as being from the North zone are all minor-league cricketers.

Aside from Maninder, former India players Atul Wassan (North zone), Nikhil Chopra (Delhi), Ajay Ratra (Haryana), and Reetinder Singh Sodhi (Punjab) have also declared their candidacies.

Other than Das, the East zone’s other names are quite insignificant. Prabhanjan Mullick, Rashmi Ranjan Parida, Subhamoy Das, Saradindu Mukherjee, and Sourasish Lahiri are some of the notable Bengali writers.

Two former India players, Deep Dasgupta and Laxmi Ratan Shukla (the current Bengal coach) have chosen not to apply.

Amay Khurasiya (MA) and Gyanendra Pandey (UP) are suspected to have applied as representatives of the central zone.

There are no hard and fast regulations, although the BCCI has recently had five junior and five senior selectors from a total of 10 different states.

As a result, S Sharath, from Tamil Nadu, Ranadeb Bose, from Bengal, Harvinder Sodhi, from MP, Krishan Mohan, from Punjab, and from Gujarat make up the junior selection committee (Pathik Patel).

As a result, it is possible that candidates from those five states will be overlooked.

Prominent figures like L. Sivaramakrishnan and W.V. Raman, both from Tamil Nadu, have not applied.

South zone hopeful, however, is former Hyderabad off-spinner Kanwaljeet Singh.

Previous articleAssam advances to the semi-finals of the Vijay Hazare Trophy thanks to Riyan Parag’s blistering 174.
Next articleThe starting price for a franchise in the Women’s Indian Premier League has been estimated at Rs 400 crore, sources have revealed.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here